Texas Southern’s Combs awarded Associated Press Honorable Mention

HOUSTON- The Associated Press (AP) unveiled its 2018-19 Men’s Basketball All-American honorees on Tuesday, as Texas Southern University graduate forward Jeremy Combs earned honorable mention.

Combs finished the season with averages of 17.6 points and 9.3 rebounds per game.

Courtesy Photo

In his final collegiate campaign, Combs was named the 2018-19 SWAC Player of the Year after winning the league’s top weekly award during four consecutive weeks.

Combs is only SWAC student-athlete to receive such accolades this year as he joins Howard’s RJ Cole as the only two HBCU student-athletes on the list.

Recently, Combs was also voted HBCU Men’s Basketball Player of the Year by ESPN’s Undefeated.

With Combs leadership, Texas Southern enjoyed a historic season as a semifinal run through the CIT (College Insider Tournament) marked the longest postseason run for the Tigers since they won the 1977 NAIA Tournament.

TSU and Hampton, which also reached the semifinals of the CIT, enjoyed the longest Division I postseason runs for historically black colleges in any tournament.

2019 AP Men’s Basketball All-America Teams

First Team
Zion Williamson, Duke, Freshman
Grant Williams, Tennessee, Junior
RJ Barrett, Duke, Freshman
Ja Morant, Murray State, Sophomore
Cassius Winston, Michigan State, Junior

Second Team
Rui Hachimura, Gonzaga, Junior
Jarrett Culver, Texas Tech, Sophomore
Markus Howard, Marquette, Junior
Ethan Happ, Wisconsin, Senior
Carsen Edwards, Purdue, Junior

Third Team
De’Andre Hunter, Virginia, Junior
Dedric Lawson, Kansas, Junior
Brandon Clarke, Gonzaga, Junior
PJ Washington, Kentucky, Sophomore
Kyle Guy, Virginia, Junior

Honorable Mention (alphabetical order)
Keith Braxton, St. Francis (Pa.); Ignas Brazdeikis, Michigan; Tookie Brown, Georgia Southern; Chris Clemons, Campbell; RJ Cole, Howard; Jeremy Combs, Texas Southern; Jarron Cumberland, Cincinnati; Mike Daum, South Dakota State; Jordan Davis, Northern Colorado; Cameron Delaney, Sam Houston State; Lamine Diane, Cal State Northridge; Daniel Gafford, Arkansas; Jon Axel Gudmundsson, Davidson; Rapolas Ivanauskas, Colgate; Ty Jerome, Virginia; Cameron Johnson, North Carolina; Anthony Lamb, Vermont; Fletcher Magee, Wofford; Caleb Martin, Nevada; CJ Massinburg, Buffalo; Garrison Mathews, Lipscomb; Luke Maye, North Carolina; Drew McDonald, Northern Kentucky; Sam Merrill, Utah State; Jaylen Nowell, Washington; Miye Oni, Yale; Shamorie Ponds, St. John’s; Myles Powell, Seton Hall; Admiral Schofield, Tennessee; Marial Shayok, Iowa State; B.J. Stith, Old Dominion; Matisse Thybulle, Washington; Jake Toolson, Utah Valley; Marques Townes, Loyola of Chicago; Tremont Waters, LSU; Coby White, North Carolina; Justin Wright-Foreman, Hofstra; Cameron Young, Quinnipiac.

%d bloggers like this: